May 2016, Day 2, Hakuho v Takarafuji

“Let’s see, what was I supposed to remember? Was it to smash my opponent on the tachiai with a hard right shoulder? Was it to push him down off the dohyo with a mighty shove? Hmmmm . . . I took care of both of those things, but something’s still nagging at me . . . Oh, right, I almost forgot. Be kind. Show your gentle side. Pretend to care about the well-being of your opponent and help him back up on the dohyo. Try to mitigate your reputation as a meanie weenie who’s unnecessarily aggressive. Aaaaaand . . . done! So proud of myself.”

Leave a Reply

